DGS sweeps WSC Gold Conference!

2 min read

Downers Grove South hosted the WSC Gold Division Conference Championship meet at O’Brien Park on Saturday. All 4 levels took home 1st place team honors and DGS had the individual winner in all 4 of the races. This is the third year in a row that DGS has swept both team and individual titles on every level.

The freshmen started off the day with a team win led by a 1-2 finish from Allison Calek (Fr) and Amanda Annese (Fr). Allison ran 19:58 in the 3-mile race to win. The Mustangs scored 25 pts to runner-up Morton’s 41.

The girls in the sophomore race continued the streak and upped the ante with a perfect score of 15 pts, ahead of 2nd place Morton (60 pts). Freshman Melissa Weidner ran a great 18:49 time to win the race and lead DGS to a  1-2-3-4-5-6  finish.  The 2nd through 6th place girls were Natalie Olsen (So), Alyssa Taglia (So), Riya Bhasin (So) and Carlirose Smid (So).

The DGS varsity won their 17th consecutive conference title by scoring 16 pts to runner up Leyden’s 75. Katie Stapleton (Jr) led the Mustangs to a 1-2-3-4 varsity finish by running a great 3-mile time of 17:56. She was followed closely behind by Becky Versaskas (Fr), Michaela Hackbarth (Sr), and Gillian Thomas (So).  Along with those three girls, Jill Boyle (Sr), Emily Qualizza (Sr), and Olivia Duax (Fr) earned all-conference honors as the Mustangs placed 7 girls among the top 9 in the race.

The JV team finished the day off with the final victory, another perfect score of 15, and a 1-2-3-4-5-6 finish by Maggie Seitz (Sr), Kara Petersen (Jr), Megan Albers (Jr), Allie Cheevers (Sr), Lizbeth Alcantara (Sr), and Megan Wicklein (Sr).  Maggie traversed the 3-mile course in 19:28 to win the race. Amazingly, 33 out of the 48 DGS runners that competed earned individual conference awards.  All 48 runners earned team conference championships!  You can access full meet results at kompusport.com. Individual results can be found HERE.

Downers Grove South begins the post season next Saturday at the IHSA Regional hosted by Plainfield South.


Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.